Skip to content

Press Release

ACADEMY 2010: Decade


July 10 - August 23, 2010
opening reception: Saturday, July 10th: 6 to 8pm.

Conner Contemporary Art is especially pleased to announce ACADEMY 2010, the ten year anniversary of our annual invitational survey of outstanding work by MFA/BFA students in the Washington/Baltimore area.


Exhibition founder and curator, Jamie Smith, Ph.D. invited the following artists to participate:


Artists: Calder Brannock, Kate Demong, Michael Dotson, Philip Hinge, Mindy Hirt, Timothy Horjus, Chie Iwasaki, Benjamin Kelley, Joyce Lee, Christina Martinelli, Katie Miller, Jenny Yang, Michelle Yo, and Ting Zhang.


Representing institutions: American University, Corcoran College of Art and Design, Gallaudet University, Maryland Institute College of Art, and University of Maryland.

We are thrilled to announce the following initiatives in conjunction with the ACADEMY 2010 exhibition:


> > PULSE Presents Award – winner announced Saturday, July 10 at 7pm.

PULSE Contemporary Art Fair will award one Academy 2010 exhibiting artist an exhibition space at PULSE Miami 2010. The jurors are Eric Romano, PULSE Art Fair Producer, Sarah Haselwood, PULSE Art Fair coordinator, Sarah Tanguy, independent curator; and Renée Maurer, Associate Curator, The Phillips Collection. 


PULSE is committed to creativity and innovation which furthers the influence of contemporary art in all corners of society. PULSE Presents, a collaboration between PULSE Contemporary Art Fair and organizations, institutions, artists and individuals dedicated to the visual arts and contemporary culture, stages exhibitions and symposia in various cities around the world. These events bring the public together with leaders in the culture sector to explore themes relating to contemporary art and society.

> > (e)merge discussion panel + party - Saturday, July 31st: 4 to 8pm

Conner Contemporary Art will host an event specifically for area emerging artists beginning with a discussion panel focusing on how emerging artists build communities. Panelists include: Kristina Bilonick, visual artist + Washington Project for the Arts program director; Zoë Charlton, visual artist + American University art professor; Damian Elias, Ph.D., psychologist; Karyn Miller, Cultural Development Corporation program manager; Sheldon Scott, performing artist; and Paul So, founder of Hamiltonian gallery + artist fellowship program. Moderated by Jamie Smith. 


(e)merge discussion panel begins at 4pm; directly followed by (e)merge party – hang out with your community, with DJ, food and drink. (e)merge is generously sponsored by Marvin Restaurant and Pink Line Project.


Listen to the podcast.